It’s been almost 2 months since I posted…

…and its the time of year to get sappy! After a wonderful Thanksgiving with my family, which my Mom did successfully gluten-free for the second year in  a row, it’s time to embrace the Christmas spirit.

Looking back on the past year and a half since my diagnosis, I never believed I could have been so blessed. My family has jumped into supporting me with my new lifestyle 110%, and being gluten-free has even given me some new opportunities. I didn’t want to post it and jinx it, but I am one of the new ambassadors for Udi’s and Glutino! I did my phone interview today, and was offered a position. I’m not quite sure what it will entail (the information packet is one it’s way), all I know is I am beyond excited to have this opportunity.

Like my Mom said, “You had more fun then anyone person should have when it comes to food.” (In reference to Appetite for Awareness). I love food! I am so excited to have the opportunity to work as a representative for the brands who made my transition into gluten-free eating easier. I’m beyond excited to attend events similar to Appetite for Awareness, though on a smaller scale, and bring some joy to others new to this Celiac, or simply gluten-free, lifestyle I have been forced to embrace.

Saying I have been forced to embrace seems negative. It has not been a negative experience; challenging, yes, negative, no. I still struggle day to day with food choices, especially when I’m out with friends. For example, last month, after telling a bartender I couldn’t have Bailey’s, she gave me a shot with Bailey’s in it. So, since I was going to be miserable anyway, I ate a McDonald’s Cheeseburger. McDonald’s may not be top of the line, but holy crap did I forget what real bread tasted like. I was so tempted to say F**** it all and abandon my gluten-free ways, and then it hit me. The days (lol, jk weeks!) of stomach cramping, bloating, unmentionable bathroom activities.

It was like “oh yeahhhhh, I’m gluten-free for a reason.” I hope this opportunity gives me a chance to show people that it’s not all bad being gluten-free. McDonald’s may be delicious, but so are Udi’s hamburger rolls!

I’m also lucky that my parents are who they are. Besides their support with my gluten-free lifestyle (which sometimes I think they feel guilty about since it IS a genetic disease), they have supported me in everything I’ve done in life. “You want to go to school in Rhode Island? Sure, go ahead! You want to transfer schools in RI? Sure, go ahead! Oh you want to move home from RI? Sure, go ahead! Oh you want to drop out of school? Sure, go ahead! Oh you want to go to Rowan? Sure, go ahead! Oh you want your own place, but don’t have the money? Sure, go ahead!” Seriously, they have been there through everything, and supported me through it all.

And they don’t even expect Christmas presents (though I partially feel that’s because they’d rather me not buy them Christmas presents, then for me to buy them then ask for money for my bills this month).

I know this is stuff more appropriate to New Years and all that jazz, but posts on Pinterest (silly I know) got me thinking. I really am lucky that this holiday season I have the people around me that I do. Though I may be single, I have the best family, including my two kitties, in the world.

In-case I don’t make it to another post before Christmas (since finals/the mall is ruining my life) and since Hanukkah has already started…Happy Non-Denominational Greetings to all!

Blue Snowflake Holiday Card Front

Enjoy Grumpy Cat in a Sleigh (I wish he were mine)

And Charlie with a tree (both are mine)

IMG_20121208_221252

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in College and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

