Surviving Hurricane Sandy

Okay, so we were lucky here in Glassboro and there wasn’t much survival needed. There seems to be very little damage to the town (though I haven’t left my apartment in a few days), and power never went out. However, huge portions of New Jersey were severely affected, and my thoughts and prayers go out to them. We were lucky here, and I am grateful for it.

The past couple weeks have been crazy, and I’m using my time off from school due to Sandy to catch up on a few things. My GRE is this Saturday and I’m in full-blown panic mode because of it. It’s also mid-term time at Rowan; Sandy bought me some time on my hardest mid-term thankfully. The only other mid-term I had I managed to get a 100% on!

It hasn’t been all studying though. Last week, the new boy and I went to the Philadelphia Art Museum for one of his classes. Afterwards, wandered around the Philadelphia Water Works enjoying the beautiful weather. I got some great pictures of Boat House Row, and it was nice to take a day off and just spend some time together.

After the museum we were starving, so I convinced him to drive over to Center City to go to Pure Tacos, a place I’ve been dying to go to since the Appetite for Awareness Event back in early September. Their nacho’s were one of my favorite dishes at Appetite for Awareness, and going there lived up to my expectations. I wound up getting the Classic Chicken Tacos, he got the beef, and then we got Chicken Bacon Ranch nachos to share. Despite being too much food, it was worth it. I really enjoyed walking into a place and not having to worry about ordering off a special menu, or if despite ordering off the “gluten-free” menu, getting sick anyways. Everything was delicious and messy and I will definitely be going back there again!

This weekend I gave myself a day off from studying to go to a Halloween party and a friend of mines house. The boy and I dressed up as peanut butter and jelly. I am proud to say my first attempt at making Halloween costumes, though frustrating, was a success!

Plus it was so much cheaper than buying the cheesy store made costumes, I think I’m going to have to make my costume every year now.

Thanksgiving is coming up and I told my mom that I would bring some gluten-free items so she doesn’t have to worry about doing all the baking/cooking for me. If anyone has any suggestions for items I can make that are cheap, and pretty easy, I’d appreciate it!

I hope everyone survived the storm as well as I did!

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Baking, College, Cooking, Dining, Pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

