School is ruining my life…

…but I love it!

I’ve been meaning to blog all week since there are so many things I forgot about Appetite for Awareness. Mainly Sweet Note Bakery and her amazing bagels. When I tried one the first words out of my mouth were “It tastes like a real bagel.” Best compliment you can give any one breaking into the gluten-free industry!

Also notable were Tonya’s gluten-free soft pretzels. Being a Philly native, I miss soft pretzels more than anything! It was such a treat to finally get to eat one again.

Back to school, I’m a few weeks in and my course load is killing me. The other day I had 4 tests in one day. I spent 15 hours studying the day before. Plus I got glutened because I wasn’t careful when I was out at the bar last weekend. So my memory was failing and I was trying to memorize criminal laws…not a great combo!

I keep telling myself that this semester is just prep work for next semester when I’m supposed to have 2 graduate level courses. I am so excited to not only be finishing my bachelors but to be starting my masters at the same time. I have never enjoyed school like I am right now.

The cats are their usual annoying selves, as I’m writing this Charlie (the fat one) is laying on my arms making typing very difficult. I’m amazed at the difference in him since I adopted him a few months ago. He is so much fun, has lost a little weight, and his coat is so silky now. Him and Miley have been getting along and they seem to actually enjoy each others company.

Sadly the Phillies season has ended, but despite some terrible football the Eagles are 3-1! GO BIRDS!

I’ve been trying to bake more lately. I’m currently in the process of testing Gluvana’s claim that you can use their flour 1 for 1 in recipes. I used a basic brownie recipe I found online as my first test and it yielded some pretty good results. I need to try something a little more complicated than brownies to really make a claim in either direction, but I promise to update once I do!

I also have just discovered Gluten Dude, a witty, insightful, and honest blog about living with Celiac disease. Thank you Pinterest for leading me to him, its rare to find someone so candid about the issues that come with Celiac, as well as the issues that persist even with the gluten-free diet.

Have a great weekend everyone!

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Baking, College and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to School is ruining my life…

  1. Cat says:

    You rock! Love your blog. I just wish I had more time (and energy) to do it! Kudos to you>

Leave a Reply

