Happy National Celiac Awareness Day!

I had no idea that there was a holiday celebrating Celiac awareness, but I’m alright with the idea. Being a typical college student my idea of celebration would be get drunk on lots of gluten-free beer and liquor with my friends, but I have to work tonight so that’s out. Oh, and I don’t have friends to do that with. So I guess I’ll settle for a quick blog post with a link to Wikipedia about Samuel Gee, the first person to publish a clinical description of Celiac Disease. He figured out it could be controlled by diet, but was very wrong as to what the diet was.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samuel_Gee

In my Google image search for a picture to throw at the bottom of the post I just found out that Celiac Awareness also has a month. It’s May, for those who didn’t know. We also have a ribbon like all other great causes, Google is showing it as a very pretty green.

Check out my awesome photoshop of Raul Ibanez (who is gluten intolerant) hitting bread out of the park, and Drew Brees (who has a gluten-allergy) throwing bread away!

 

I know, very skilled, and yes I used Ibanez in a Phillies jersey because the Yankees suck.

On a serious note, if you think you may have Celiac or a member of your family might, check out the symptoms list from the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, and always consult your doctor before going gluten-free.

http://www.celiaccentral.org/disease-symptoms-checklist/

Happy National Celiac Disease Awareness Day!

 

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy National Celiac Awareness Day!

  1. Carolyn says:

    Thank you for not showing Ibanez in a Yankees jersey!!!

Leave a Reply

