This Week I Had My First Philly Cheese Steak in Over a Year…

…and it was delicious! Had I known my diagnosis last summer was going to come back to be Celiac Disease, a real Philly cheese steak is number one on my list of foods I would have indulged in. A cheese steak, some good Chinese food, cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory, Oreo’s, a fresh hot bagel, a few different craft beers; if I keep going my resolve will disappear and I will purposely break my diet for the first time in a year.

Unfortunately, I was placed on this gluten-free diet, and I did not get a chance to binge eat gluten before I was diagnosed. Thankfully, in response to the disaster that was Celiac Awareness night at the Phillies, Aramark decided to make more gluten-free options available at Citizens Bank Park. Besides cheese steaks, pizza is also now available, which I haven’t tried but is on my list of foods for my next Phillies game. The cheese steak was as good as I remember them, and while my mother may have had to choke down the roll, I don’t remember what real bread tastes like and it was as good as gluten-free rolls get.

In other exciting gluten-free news, Hops and Grapes, my local liquor store, has placed all three New Planet Beers on the shelf where you can buy single bottles. I was pretty excited to be able to try the Off Grid Pale Ale and the Tread Lightly Ale without committing myself to buying a four pack.

Both beers were delicious. The Off Grid Pale Ale was a nice dark amber color, but it had a really strong sorghum after taste. It was the first gluten-free beer where there was a strong hop flavor, at least of the beers I’ve tried. It was a very heavy beer, great to have one or two, but not something I would drink if I was going to be drinking all night.

The Tread Lightly Ale was paler in color, and had a great bright flavor that made it very drinkable. I will definitely be buying this in the 4-pack and it would be a great beer to have at a BBQ.

In other beer news, Dogfish Head has brewed Tweason’ale once again, and it should be available at your local liquor stores. Remember they only brew this 4 times a year, so get it while you can!

I’m finally down to my last 2 days of summer class then I have a whole week until the regular semester starts. It will be nice to have, even if its only for a week, no homework hanging over my head.

And don’t forget, if you’re a local reader, to get your Appetite for Awareness tickets! Its happening Sunday, September 23rd, at the Strawbridge Building on 8th and Market. Tickets can be purchased here. Being honored this year is another local blogger and avid Phillies fan, writer of  Gluten Free Philly, a resource I use on a regular basis.

As a bonus here’s a picture of Charlie helping me study last week…

And the sunset from the Phillies game Tuesday night…

 

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Beer, Cider, and other Gluten-Free Drinks, College, Dining, Pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Week I Had My First Philly Cheese Steak in Over a Year…

  1. Thank you for sharing information about Appetite for Awareness! While we didn’t play a role in the menu for this year’s Celiac Awareness Night, we’re looking forward to working with Aramark to ensure better gluten-free options at Celiac Awareness Night next year. Thanks again for sharing and glad to hear you enjoyed your gluten-free cheese steak!

Leave a Reply

