How the Phillies are failing on and off the field…

Despite their lack of performance this season, and the fact that earlier today they traded Hunter Pence to the San Francisco Giants for two nobodies, I still love my Phillies. However, this season, for the first time ever I was actually disappointed in an experience at Citizens Bank Park…

July 20th was Celiac Disease Awareness night for the Philadelphia Phillies. My family bought everyone tickets to go, and I was beyond excited! I walked into the game about 7:00, grabbed food for my non-gluten-free friend, then headed up to my seats and to where they were selling the gluten-free food. While hot dogs are always available behind section 128, and Redbridge is available at a few of the beer vendors, they were supposed to be selling special food in celebration of awareness. After waiting for 25 minutes in line, I got to the front to find out they were out of everything but hot dogs! I would have avoided the line and gone down to section 128 if I had wanted a hot dog! I was incredibly disappointed, but intrigued by the beer they were selling, it was something I had never seen before. Wrongfully placing my faith in Aramark, when my friend asked if I’d like a beer I told her I’d try the Omission Pale Ale. She went to pay, and they didn’t take credit cards, so I whipped out what little cash I had and bought the beer and her Cracker Jacks.

Trusting that Aramark would have done their research before selling anything at a Celiac Awareness night, I indulged in my beer, skipped dinner because there was no food left, and enjoyed an absolute blow out by the San Francisco Giants which included a grand slam given up by Vance Worley. For the next few days, I had Celiac symptoms but no idea where they came from. Turns out Omission beers are brewed with barley and then a “proprietary process” is used to remove the gluten. (http://omissionbeer.com/) Word for word from their website:

“We’re committed to ensuring that every bottle of Omission beer meets our team’s standards. Each batch of Omission Pale Ale and Omission Lager is tested by an independent lab using the R5 Competitive ELISA for gluten content. Although there is scientific evidence supporting this testing, the evidence is not conclusive. Omission beer may contain gluten.”

I know what you’re thinking “So you’re telling me that Aramark served beer that may contain gluten, at a Celiac Awareness night?” Yes, yes I am, and my god have I suffered for it.

There was a positive response from Aramark to the disgruntled Celiac Community which can be read here at Gluten Free Philly. I really hope that Aramark is serious about making next year’s event a more positive experience for the Gluten Free Community of Philadelphia.

In other news I passed Biology with an A! I couldn’t be happier that the class is over!

Hopefully I’ll have some exciting posts the next few days as I bravely wander into the realm of gluten-free baking for the first time!

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Beer, Cider, and other Gluten-Free Drinks, Dining and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

