On Being a Crazy Cat Lady…Second Edition

Still not quite there yet, but I’m getting close. Miley settled in well but she seemed to be lonely. Friday morning I got the urge to go to the animal shelter. So I did. I found this 7-year-old, 30 pound cat that I absolutely fell in love with. I got approved for adoption on the spot and brought him home on Sunday! 

He was very appropriately named Fat Boy by the shelter, but I renamed him Charlie, after our dear, old, and quite hefty Phillies manager Charlie Manuel. Charlie has taken very well to apartment life; within five minutes he was walking around the place like he owned it. I definitely think has some abandonment issues though. He follows me from room to room, and cries at me anytime I leave the house and come back. He even tried to get in the shower with me this morning!

Miley isn’t too thrilled about her new brother. She’s been hiding in the bedroom since she saw the cat carrier, I think she thought I was sending her away. She’s slowly venturing out, and I hope they learn to be friends!

Its been a while since I’ve blogged, but nothing too exciting has gone on. I got glutened at work, which was my own fault, I didn’t make my salad out of the bins in the back, and got cross-contaminated by something in the case. I’ve been pretty much home bound studying for my biology class, its hard but I’m doing much better in it this time around. I also picked up another online class to hopefully push my graduation up to next spring instead of having to take classes next summer.

Socially I’ve been…who am I kidding I don’t have a social life. I did do the color run with my brother, his lady, and my little sister. The Color Run, calls itself the happiest 5K on the planet; running a 5K in humid 95 degree weather will never be happy, ever. Doing the run, the heat aside, was kind of fun. They threw colors on you as you ran and at the end there was a big celebration where everyone just threw the chalky paint up in the air and you got covered. The paint is gluten-free (I asked), and it is definitely an experience worth having if you’re into running.

This weekend is the Celiac Awareness Event at Citizens Bank Park. I cannot wait to eat all the delicious gluten-free noms noms! I am also incredibly excited to go to another Phillies game, I haven’t been in over a month! Their season may not have been great so far but I have phaith in my boys!

Also before I forget, I finally got my hands on Epic’s Glutenator beer. It is fantastic! There is definitely a noticeable taste difference with the lack of sorghum in the brew. Give it a try if you can find it!

 

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Beer, Cider, and other Gluten-Free Drinks, College, Pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

