Domino’s Came Out with a Gluten-Free Pizza but Celiacs can’t eat it :(

We all know that some people eat gluten-free because of Celiac Disease. Some people eat gluten-free because of an intolerance and some because it is healthier. Gluten-free is one of the more popular diet fads, which makes my life easier because it means more foods available to me. It also can make my life hell.

Restaurants all want to claim they can accommodate gluten-free, most of the time this limits you to a salad or a burger without a bun. Even then the cross-contamination can become an issue for Celiac’s. This week Domino offered a teased to the Celiac community. They announced the unveiling of a gluten-free crust by popular demand. Unfortunately, right away they say it is recommended for people with a mild gluten sensitivity, not Celiac patients. Ughhhhhh…..

I don’t know about anyone else, but I always stare longingly at the menu when the manfriend orders take out. I know I can get a salad but since it is take out, there’s a pretty good chance they’ll screw that up too. I was so excited when I first saw the rumors on Twitter that Domino’s was unveiling a gluten-free option. Unfortunately, the research I did and this article by The Savvy Celiac confirmed my fears that Domino’s was not able to overcome the cross-contamination issue. 

Oh well, so goes the life of a Celiac! At least Chuck E. Cheese is trying to address the issue!

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Dining, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Domino’s Came Out with a Gluten-Free Pizza but Celiacs can’t eat it :(

  1. Pingback: I’m terrible at keeping this updated…. « ellenensminger

Leave a Reply

