Bye-Bye Lazy Saturdays

Today marks the official start of the spring rugby season, and the official end to my fun weekends. The manfriend is in his final semester at Rowan, and will be able to play rugby for the first time in a few years (he’s missed previous seasons due to injury). Rowan rugby is actually ranked fifth in the nation, in division 3, and won the Eastern Pennsylvania Rugby Union in the fall. The next few weekends will be filled with scrimmages that lead up to the national tournament on March 24, in Virginia. March 24 also happens to be the manfriend’s birthday, so I’m hoping I can make it down to Virginia for the tournament.

The scrimmages every Saturday means no more going out on Friday night, no more sleeping in on Saturday, and no more lazy Saturday afternoons. Instead I get to head down to the inter-mural field, stand in the cold, and watch a bunch of guys grab-ass. Now I’m no stranger to men in tiny clothes grabbing at each other, I did manage my high school wrestling team, but rugby takes it to a new level. I don’t know if it’s because it is a group of guys instead of a single wrestler, but some how I just don’t understand how rugby is the “real mans sport.” I mean look at these shorts, but it makes the manfriend happy. He loves playing and hopes to keep playing rugby after he graduates, so I will be there for him, even if it means giving up my lazy Saturday afternoons.

Exciting news, Dogfish Head’s Tweason’ is now available, and it is good. We tapped it at work sometime last week, but last night was the first time I had a chance to sit down and enjoy a beer. The Tweason’ale has a nice round flavor too it, you really get the sweetness from the strawberries. It doesn’t have that real strong “gluten-free” after taste that I’ve found with most gluten-free beers. One of my managers was drinking it after his shift, even though he is not gluten-free. Bottles of the Tweason’ became available in New Jersey as of this week, but are still difficult to find. Hopefully, this beer will pick up some steam in the gluten-free community, it is definitely something worth trying. If you go to the Dogfish Head website (here) you can use a locater to find what liquor stores near you are carrying the Tweason’.

Unfortunately, it is time for me to shower so I can head over to the rugby game. Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in College, Cooking, Dining and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

