Happy Valentine’s Day!

Just a short post to say Happy Valentine’s Day to all my wonderful readers. The manfriend didn’t believe me when I said we weren’t doing Valentine’s Day, so he bought me a single red rose, and a GIANT Snickers bar. He did good. 

For dinner I made red mashed potatoes with parmigiana and fresh parsley, hand mashed to nommy goodness by the manfriend. To go with the mashed potatoes, I pan-fried a sirloin steak and served it with onions that were cooked in bourbon. The bourbon onions were amazing, and the steak perfect if I do say so myself.

I would love to write more but I have one of three tests in my American Government class at 10:50 tomorrow, and have yet to start studying. I also am going to interview for an internship tomorrow. I really hope I get the position, its working with ex-offenders and helping them find employment. It would definitely be a great place to get some experience for after I graduate.

Hope everyone had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in College and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. amy says:

    Hi Ellen, I’m a blog friend of your mom’s (I’ve met her in real life too, so you know I’m real!!) and I also have celiac. I’ve been gluten free for just about two years now and everyone in my family of five eats gluten free at home. If you ever have questions, feel free to contact me–you have my email now. 🙂 Also, I saw your wine tweet in the twitter feed on your blog. Wine can have gluten through two potential sources, the filtering agent and through storage in wooden casks sealed with a wheat-containing substance. My husband has been buying Yellowtail wine, which says it’s gluten free on their website. (He also checked forums and it repeatedly came up safe.) I can’t drink even gluten-free beers; my system was so damaged that the yeast content in beer bothered me too much. It’s definitely a learning curve to figure out where the hidden gluten is in various products!

  2. Hi Amy, Thank you for reading, and thank you for the information about the wine, I have to check into that! I will be sure to contact you if I have any questions, and if you have any helpful tips for me, feel free to email me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

