I Finally Have Internet Again…WOOOOHOOOO!

The past week or so, Rowan’s internet network for on campus housing decided to be non functioning. Its been INFURIATING! Last week I got a fancy new Droid Razr, so at least I’ve been able to get my emails, and check Facebook, but full blown blogging has been impossible. WordPress has a Droid application, but typing out a 400 or so word post was just not happening.

So I will update you on my exciting, and always gluten-free life while I listen to the awful fire alarm go off in my apartment. By the way, another infuriating thing about Rowan is the sensitivity of the fire alarms. I feel like every time someone who doesn’t know how to cook steps into the kitchen they go off. My apartment complex is a 5 building complex but if the fire alarms go off in one apartment the entire complex goes off for a solid half hour. God forbid we have a real fire, because no one evacuates the buildings. Even more annoying is the fact that I live in the handicapped apartment (they built too many handicapped apartments so even though neither of my roommates are handicapped we live here). The handicapped apartment not only has the lovely screaming alarm, we are blessed with the appearance of flashing lights every time the alarm goes off. Its like having our own personal strobe light, Saturday nights when everyone comes back from the bar, its fantastic. Without fail the alarm goes off, we just turn off the lights and have a rave.

On the other hand, living in a handicapped apartment is great. My closet shelves are lower, and I can actually reach things. We have one handicapped shower, and one regular tub. I love my handicapped shower with the move-able shower head. It makes dying my hair so much easier. The walls also have bumpers, which is great for a klutz like me who is constantly walking into things.

Other exciting things that have happened this week…I turned 22! Woohooooooo! Just kidding, I’ve been dreading this birthday. I feel like last year was the last “fun” birthday I get to have. This year, I went to Landmark Americana for dinner with my family, the manfriend, and my brother’s lady. Landmark is the ultimate college bar. They have a few locations, Glassboro, West Chester, and one near Drexel in Philadelphia. Every Saturday night they have $3 you-call-it drinks, and $1 beers (for you’re non gluten-free friends), and drink specials pretty much every other night of the week. They also, as I discovered when I moved back in January, have a gluten-free menu. Landmark is great if you’re looking for just bar food; burgers, nachos, the usual. They don’t have their gluten-free menu online but here’s their regular menu. You’ll be able to pick out what is available gluten-free. The most exciting, and unexpected part about their gluten-free menu, they offer gluten-free buns for their burgers. True to the gluten-free style of bread they fall apart toward the end, but it’s so nice to be able to eat a burger with a bun when eating out. My server when I was there also mentioned that the gluten-free menu was new, and they were working on adding more to it. If you’re interested in checking out their other locations, I would suggest calling to see if their gluten-free menu is available. I do not know if they are just experimenting with it in Glassboro (their original and busiest location) or if its available at all of their locations.

After dinner with my family, the manfriend, his roommates, and I took the drunk bus to Mad River in Philadelphia. They run a special for Rowan students on Thursday nights, a $15 cover and all you can drink till midnight. Its a pretty awesome deal, that always ends in bad decisions. Friday was spent lounging around, recovering. The manfriend and I stayed in with his roommates and had a few drinks, called it an early night. I am happy to report, as I previously blogged about, Mike’s Hard Lemonade is gluten-free. I got a six pack of the Cranberry Lemonade Friday night, and have had zero reactions. I am beyond happy about this. Drinking liquor and wine gets old after a while, and having another option is fantastic.

Saturday was the best day of this weekend. The manfriend, for my birthday booked us a couples massage at Massage Envy. It was amazing! To tell me that he had booked massages, the manfriend, ever the romantic, wrote me a poem. It was without a doubt the best birthday present I’ve gotten so far. After the massages, I was in no mood to cook dinner. Luckily, there was a Five Guys across from the massage place. I had been dying to go to Five Guys for the fries. According to their FAQ on their website, their fries are 100% potatoes, cooked in peanut oil. Since they only fry their fries in their fryer, there is no risk of cross contamination. Five Guys fries are amazing, and their burgers are to die for, no bun needed. They were also very accommodating with the gluten-free, changing their gloves, putting things in separate bags, etc. I love places that, despite the lack of a “gluten-free menu,” will go the extra mile to make sure your food is safe.

On the home cooking front, not much has happened. At my Shoprite, I found Hodgson Mill Gluten-Free Corn Bread Mix. It was delicious, very sweet, and not as dry as the other mix I had tried. Unfortunately, the manfriend and I have complete opposite schedules this semester, so I don’t cook dinner for him every night. When I cook for myself, I tend to stay a little more simple, just some plain rice and sauteed chicken and veggies. Tonight I made some fried rice. My roommates have been on a Chinese food kick, and I was feeling left out. So I decided to quickly chef up some chicken fried rice with peppers, carrots, onions, peas, and egg. I finally got to use the gluten free soy sauce I had bought a while ago. The company San-J has a few varieties of gluten-free soy sauce, and other Asian style cooking sauces. I love the fact that there is a company that is catering to the Chinese food needs of the gluten-free. While I’ll never make fried rice as good as the Chinese food place around the corner, I still want to at least try.

I was also, before my diagnosis, and oatmeal fanatic. Quaker Oats Instant Oatmeal was breakfast every day I had the time for it. To my excitement I found Bakery on Main’s Instant Oatmeal. I tried the Maple Multi-Grain Muffin flavor because I was a dedicated Maple Brown Sugar fan. It was good, not nearly as sweet as Quaker Oats, but that’s probably a good thing. There is an apple flavor, and a strawberry shortcake flavor available too. I cannot wait to try them.

Clearly, not having internet has severely affected me, but that’s all for today! Here’s a Valentine’s Day smile in celebration of Tuesday (even though I hate Valentine’s Day and I refuse to celebrate it).

Adorable…

 

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Beer, Cider, and other Gluten-Free Drinks, College, Cooking, Dining and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Finally Have Internet Again…WOOOOHOOOO!

  1. bakeryonmain says:

    Hello There! Glad to hear you enjoyed our Maple Multigrain Muffin Oatmeal : ) If you would like to review our products on your blog we can send you some samples of the other flavors. We also are offering free shipping on Oatmeal on our website. You can contact me at Whitneyr@bakeryonmain.com

  2. Pingback: Happy Fat Tuesday! « ellenensminger

Leave a Reply

