A Late Happy Thanksgiving to Everyone!

I never made it around to posting this weekend, so Happy Belated Thanksgiving to everyone! Hope your holiday was amazing, and your gluten-free meal a success. My mom makes the best stuffing in the world and she was kind enough to make a batch gluten-free for me, so thankfully I didn’t have to go without one of my favorite items on my first gluten-free Thanksgiving.

One of the things I owe my successful Thanksgiving to is The Patriot’s Bakery in Medford, NJ. They have been kind enough to experiment with gluten-free baking for me. So far they’ve made me chocolate chip cookies, some of the best brownies I’ve ever had in my life, and this weeks sweet was chocolate-mint chip cookies. For Thanksgiving, they made me a delicious gluten-free apple crumb pie, and they gave me a blueberry almond tart as a treat. The blueberry almond tart was to die for, and the crumbs on the apple pie were absolutely sinful. The Patriots Bakery does gluten-free baking every Sunday, so if you’re in the Medford area it’s definitely worth a trip in to see them.

Sunday, I got to go to the Eagles vs. Patriots game. Despite a devastating loss, my brother made a delightful discovery for me. The  concession stand behind our sections serves gluten-free beer, and gluten-free hot dogs (buns and all.) Now being an avid Phillies phan, I had already found the gluten-free options at Citizens Bank Park (the concessions stand in section 128 if anyone’s wondering), I was unaware that Lincoln Financial Field has gluten-free options as well. I love that gluten-free is now prevalent enough to be offered at Philadelphia stadiums now, I’m sure other cities offer gluten-free options, but clearly, Philadelphia sports are the best. Now I just need to get someone to take me to a Flyers game to see if they offer gluten-free options there as well.

Unfortunately, this weekend was not all fun for me. In the Christmas spirit, I bought some Hershey’s Candy Cane Kisses, which are something I look forward to every year. This year, however, I discovered they are something I will not be enjoying again. While technically gluten-free, shortly after eating the Kisses, I started having a reaction. I started Googling things that I had eaten recently, and to my dismay I found that many other Celiacs had a reaction to the Candy Cane Kisses, as well as a lot of other Hershey’s products. I stopped eating them, and my symptoms eased, and have disappeared. So despite my preference for Hershey’s chocolates, I will not longer be indulging in their products.

With the weather being in the high 60’s and low 70’s the past few days, its hard to believe that Thanksgiving’s already passed, and Christmas is around the corner. Hopefully it cools off a little in the next few weeks, it seems wrong to be celebrating Christmas without needing to bundle up. Even though it’s not cold yet, here’s a Calvin and Hobbes snowman comic, they were always my favorite.

Tonight’s dinner is beef stew and gluten-free biscuits. The stew is one of my mom’s family recipes, I hope the manfriend likes it as much as I do!

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Beer, Cider, and other Gluten-Free Drinks, Cooking, Dining and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

