Since I’m off work today, I might as well blog about….work

Since May, I’ve been working at Uno’s Chicago Grill in Maple Shade, New Jersey. When I got hired there, I had no idea about the gluten-free lifestyle, or Celiac Disease. We have a Gluten Free Menu (click here to see), but that didn’t mean anything to me, other than I had to run the person who ordered gluten free’s food separate from everyone else at the table. Little did I know, a few months later that menu was the only thing I was going to be able to eat off of.

One of the great things about being a Celiac working in a restaurant that caters to gluten-free living, is the fact that I can eat at work. I’m also one of the few employees who have tried certain items like our gluten-free pizza (it’s very good but make sure you order it well done). Its become beneficial to the other staff, including managers, to have someone who truly understands the gluten-free life.

There are downfalls, as with everything, to being a Celiac in the food industry. Handling foods all day that contain gluten sometimes leave me with little red dots on my arms. Running food is awful when I’m having one of those “would one mozzarella stick really kill me” days, but for the most part I’m grateful to see restaurants becoming more aware of the gluten-free lifestyle.

Other restaurants with Gluten Free Menus Include:

Don Pablo’s 

Ruby Tuesdays

Red Robin

Bertucci’s  (the manfriend and I went here 2 weeks ago, the balsamic chicken is amazing)

Carrabbas

Pf Changs (you have to click on the gluten-free menu under the different sections)

The list goes on and on, but these are some of my favorites. Its comforting to know that awareness is being raised in chain restaurants about gluten-free living, and hopefully some day every chain restaurant will have a gluten-free menu.

Here’s a smile for today! Have a wonderful Saturday everyone!

 

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in Dining and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

