I have a million things to do…so naturally I’m starting a blog.

As a college student, naturally, I am procrastinating writing my papers, fortunately they aren’t due for a few weeks so I’m actually being productive by thinking about doing them early. In my procrastination, I have decided to start a blog. A few months ago, I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease (for you people out there who don’t know what that is see here for more information). I plan on chronicling my adventures as a new Celiac as I try to learn the ins and outs of gluten free living, as well as posting the random musings of a college student.

For today’s post I’ll do the boring stuff and detail my long journey as a college student.

I graduated high school in 2008 and that fall went away to Johnson and Wales University on an academic scholarship. My major there was Food, Beverage, and Restaurant Management. After about a trimester and a half there, I realized that while I love people, hospitality management was not for me, so I started looking at different schools for my other major choice, Education.

Being young, and at the time in love, I made the brilliant decision to continue living in Rhode Island and started at Rhode Island College for Secondary Education. Well about half way through the semester, my love, at the time, and I broke up. So I did some serious thinking, and came to the conclusion that it was silly for me to continue my education in Rhode Island when all I wanted to do at the end of the day was move back to New Jersey. I ended my tenure as a Rhode Island resident in December of 2009.

That spring I started at Burlington County College to work on my associates degree, and to figure out what I really wanted from a college. What I decided I wanted was some time off, so that fall I didn’t register for classes. About halfway through the fall semester I got bored, so I picked up at 7 week Psychology 101 course; I fell in love. I fell in love with the field, with the theories, and with the chemistry behind it.  I was hooked, I finished my Associates in Education (because it was the fastest degree to finish), but I took as many psychology courses as I could.

I finished my Associates this summer, and started classes at Rowan University in September. I love it, the campus feels like home, I have an on campus apartment (with 3 very interesting roommates), and there are opportunities to be involved everywhere you turn. My only complaint would be the lack of food available for gluten free living, but with the new places opening in Rowan Boulevard, they are hoping to bring in some more “healthy” options, which I am hoping will bring in some gluten free options.

About ellenensminger

I am a recently diagnosed Celiac living in Glassboro, NJ. I am attending Rowan University for Law and Justice with a minor in Psychology.
This entry was posted in College, Cooking, Dining and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I have a million things to do…so naturally I’m starting a blog.

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Slamdunk says:

    With your experiences living with Celiac Disease, I think your blog will be useful to many.

    Best wishes with your studies Ellen.

Leave a Reply

